It was predicted that, with the development of technology, people in the 21st century would have much more free time in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

In this day and age, by virtue of technology breakthrough, individuals are projected to have colossal spare time. I reach a consensus on the statement for several justifications.

First and foremost, thanks to the innovation of automatic manufacture, some tedious and repetitive tasks can be simultaneously finished by robots. Blue-collar workers, for instance, in the past shoulder the responsibility to painstakingly do effort-wasted and challenging works; however, nowadays, automatic machines can replace humankind to take over risky missions. This alternative can go a long way towards letting laborers spend more time on unwinding and enhancing mental health. Not only can artificial intelligence be handy in workplace, but also it can assist people in handling some houseworks and daily tasks. Driving car is in the case. With the occurence of driveless cars since 2020, it drastically hase saved millions of seconds people allocate to commute and avoid being jam-packed. Moreover, robots doing household chores such as sweeping floors or washing dishes can help spouses enjoy quality time with each others more instead of being up to their ears with messy houseworks. The advancement of technogy definitely brings more leisure time to human in the long run.

However, critics of the idea may contend that technological amelioration is only conducive to wealthy people since the exhorbitant costs of robots. It is undeniable that the counterargument may be factual in some impoverished areas; however, it will radically be nonsense in the foreseeable future as the cutback on prices of materials that leads to the cheaper production costs. For instance, in Viet Nam, the autonomous car prices have been gone down from 5.000 dollars to 3500 dollars in only two-year period, anticipating the decreasing trend in the next 5 years. Therefore, people are predicted to have more leisure time, as a result of affordable fees.