It’s better to buy just a few expensive clothes rather than lots of cheaper clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that it’s better to purchase a few high-priced garments instead of many budget-friendly ones. This essay agrees with this statement because a few expensive clothes can last longer and buying lots of cheap clothing items can have harmful effects on the environment.

Pricey clothes have a higher longevity. These are made out of high-quality fabrics, with more time spent on the production process. Therefore, buying a few of them can be considered an investment, because they don’t wear out quickly and can be worn for a long period of time. On the other hand, lots of cheap clothes can be torn easily, as they are made out of low-quality synthetic materials, and produced quickly with less attention to detail. For instance, an expensive suit can be worn for many years and still maintain a good quality look, unlike a cheap one which can be used for less than a year, appearing completely worn out.

Shopping for many low-cost clothes can damage the environment. Since these garments are disposable, they contribute to more accumulated waste. Companies make this type of clothing to target individuals with low income and those who prefer to wear trendy seasonal clothes for short periods. This production is aimed at making more profits, ignoring the harmful consequences on the environment. These clothes are made out of materials that can’t be recycled. Therefore, they resort to burning them, resulting in poisonous gases released into the atmosphere. For instance, the rise in fast fashion shopping is a major cause of the increasing quantity of rubbish on the planet.

In conclusion, a few pricey clothes are a better choice because they can be worn for longer, while many budget-friendly garments can harm the environment as they create more trash.