It’s better to buy just a few expensive clothes rather than lots of cheaper clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

A common belief is that it is preferable to purchase a smaller wardrobe of higher-priced apparel, in lieu of owning a large range of less expensive clothing. I strongly agree with this concept as pricey outfits last longer and give a much better first impression.

The major justification for my view that a more streamlined wardrobe of highly-priced items is desirable is they have greater longevity due to the higher quality materials and workmanship used. For people who lack the time or impetus to shop on a regular basis, this allows them to avoid time-consuming trips to retail outlets. Furthermore, as the clothing does not need to be replaced as often, there is far less environmental impact. The apparel industry is a major polluter, with manufacturers using dyes and chemical additives that pollute waterways, not to mention air pollution resulting from transport to market. For example, the vast majority of clothing for the international brand Zara is manufactured in Asia, whereas the main customer base is in Europe or the USA.

Further support for my agreement that owning fewer expensive clothes is preferable is that it can lead to better opportunities. If someone wears designer clothing that is suitably tailored for their figure, they will be more likely to create a favourable impression on industry peers and leaders, leading to more potential for collaboration. Additionally, high-quality garments are likely to be far more attractive to potential suitors. This could improve someone’s chances of finding a suitable romantic partner.

In conclusion, I completely agree that a smaller range of expensive garments is preferable to a large wardrobe of lower-quality items because they have an extended usable life and improve the wearer’s desirability. Therefore, I recommend people should focus on purchasing high-quality clothing which can be used for a variety of occasions.