some people believe that learning a foreign language should be mandatory in schools .Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some societies argue that students have to learn other languages in schools. I agree with this statement because I believe that learning another language at schools either in primary or secondary education can help individuals prepare themselves to study abroad easily and improve self confidence.

First, learning foreign languages makes it easy for students to pursue their dream to study abroad, which has become popular nowadays. As language becomes one of crucial requirements before applying to a university. For example, many universities around the world set the International English Language Test (IELTS) as a standard of recruitment for their international students. This can become a strong reason to implement English learning at schools. By standardizing this new approach to all schools, may have a long term impact on the future generation, where they have been facilitated to learn English at school from an early age.

Secondly, learning a new language can improve self confidence. Individuals will not limit themselves to interacting with foreign people because they are well prepared, this can help them to learn a new perspective, exchange culture and knowledge. For example students contributing to an international competition in tech. Without the ability of speaking or writing in English, they can not participate in those events due to the fact that they may feel insecure or underqualify.

In conclusion, I believe that learning foreign languages should be implemented at schools. This can bring a positive impact to students such as studying abroad or contributing to international events.