Keeping animals in captivity is cruel. There is no reason for zoos to exist in the 21st century. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that keeping animals in captivity is heartless and there is no reason for places like zoo to be hold in present. However, while I agree that it is better for animals to be free and live in the habitat, I definitely do not think that zoos are purposeless.

One the one hand, not every zoo can provide animals life conditions, good enough for a healthy and painless existence. The Internet is full of pictures of dirty and emaciated animals that are kept on a leash. There are lots of examples in social media and news that show how purely wild animals are kept in aviaries and cages worldwide. All of this makes many people think that the need to create and maintain zoos and circuses is cruel, as most understand that it is impossible to create the necessary conditions everywhere. Based on all of the above, I agree that it is better for animals to live in the wild than to be kept in terrible conditions

One the other hand, despite all negative impact, I believe that many zoos are created in order to save species, which are listed in the Black book and are close to extinction. In such places animals being protected in captivity. They are treated and fed better, than it is possible in the wild. Thanks to the creation of such reserves, many animals can be returned to their habitats with less risk of their complete extinction. Also, because of such support from scientists and specialists who provide zoos, many species have been saved from complete extinction, such as the snow leopard.

In conclusion, not only in zoos animals are being provided with better food and treatment, but also lots of species were saved from full extinction and were returned to the habitats. Therefore, despite the fact than not every zoo can provide good life conditions, I believe that it is very important to maintain zoos in order to create reservoir population.