Lack of fresh water is becoming a global issue of increasing importance. What problems does the shortage of fresh water cause? What measures could be taken to overcome these problems?

Fresh water is an essential thing for all living beings present in our planet. But out of all these livings things, most of the fresh water is used by human beings. As the population is increasing, fresh water crisis is gradually occurring as a global concern all around the world. In this essay, I will discuss about demerits of this crisis and share what initiatives can be taken to avoid this problem.

Shortage of Fresh water around the globe is an obvious problem, due to the increment in the human population and almost one third of fresh water sources are being used by human beings. There is no access of pure liquids for different species like, plants and animals. Moreover, this crisis has halt the process of natural vegetation and plenty of animal species are being suffered due to this. Rapid use of water supply, indicates that there will be shortage of water to all living beings in future especially humans. For instance, people are conquering the oceans for building properties because there is no space left on the mother earth to build houses. Dubai’s palm island is the best example of this scenario, where they are building island in the sea because they cannot build it in sand. Such destroying of ocean, will definitely bring a halt to the pure water supply in the future.

On the other hand, there are numerous initiatives which can be taken to overcome this issue, some of the points which can be followed are as follows- Firstly, government can limit the supply of water to their residents, in such limited supply, water usage will also be in the limit by the locals but also the supply sources will be kept at a secure level. Sometimes people are unaware of such problem, therefore, upper authorities should create water saving initiative or awareness programs among the locals to make them more attentive towards this problem. One of the best example which can be taken in to notice is, there are many water taps in a house out of those at least 1 tap will have leakage which causes water loss. Authorities can create advertisement to approach people for repairing or replacing those taps. Such little things will create a major impact overall in the movement towards overcome of this situation.

To conclude, I believe that still there is plenty of time to rectify our mistakes and contribute by acting wisely to this problem. Little contributions internationally can create a major impact in order to protect fresh water bodies.