Languages are dying out all the time. The result of this is a world with fewer languages. This is a good thing for people everywhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Languages are dying all the time” – I think that’s true. A lot of languages were lost around the world. But people and scientists don’t have a clear answer whether it is good or bad. Having fewer languages in the world will make life easier.

Nowadays we have international languages. You learn it and use it in a lot of foreign countries. People there or huge part of them will understand you. But in our world there are about thousand languages and just ten of them are international. Even in the countries where the international language is official, people may prefer the second or the third official language. Comparing with this situation, it became clear, that having small amounts of languages will make life easier for all groups of people in different countries.

But all these arguments are based on practical examples. If we look at languages as a human art – losing them will be a disaster. Languages are projections of different mindsets, nation’s cultures, customs and traditions. Languages are key for scientists to understand history. Psychologists use language as main tool for treatment. Philosophers say that the more languages a person knows, the more humane ojne becomes. Research found out that children who know two or more languages can learn new things very fast.

It is rather a difficult that cant be answered with a yes or no, but I admire the approaches of people and scientists. I think, we should safe languages as much as we can, and try to use them properly.