Languages are dying out all the time. The result of this is a world with fewer languages. This is a good thing for people everywhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, languages which are not widely used by the masses are slowly vanishing over time. There are varied opinions on this topic however, I disagree with this statement. There are various languages all over the world. While some might be spoken by many people, few are used by very small number of groups. This might not be advantageous for everyone.

Though, having fewer languages leads to greater ease in communication and less need for translations, but those who have lost their language have also lost their culture. Moreover, it is a way of expressing themselves in their mother tongue. As they go extinct, there is a decrease in the number of native speakers which results in vernacular languages becoming scarce. Subsequently, due to lack of knowledge of their own history and ancestor’s many minor tribes disintegrate. The major reason for this being lack of reading and writing in their own languages.

Besides, one may not express themselves fully in a new language. Subsequently, the quality of communication in their common language is limited. Another major reason being many around the globe trying to master languages which give them a high level of job security like Mandarin and English. However, now many companies are trying to add a variety of languages in their AI systems to promote diversity. Local languages can be revived by taking effective initiatives like mandatory primary education of their mother tongue. Additionally, promoting them similar to traditional subjects like mathematics and sciences.

Conclusively, it can be iterated that language death is a tragedy. It leads to a loss of the country’s heritage and way of expression.