Large companies often use sports events to promote their products. Some people think this has a negative impact on sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s society, while big companies are advertising their products through sports events, some people argue that it brings significant drawbacks to sports. Personally, I partly agree with this opinion and I am going to discuss my views in this essay.

Firstly, it is true that many large companies nowadays use sports events as one of the ways to promote their products, especially the athletes and celebrities who wear or use those products can help increase sales. Adidas’ shoes perfectly exemplify this situation because it is sports shoes which suitable for athletes such as tennis players and are known for their good quality for sports activities. On this count, the idea that large businesses advertise products through sports events is invalid.

In lieu of the drawbacks of big associations making use of sports events to promote products, I am convinced that it does have a negative impact on sports. That is because not every company is promoting products that relate to sports, for example, Coca-Cola sells soft drinks, which not only apply to sports but also, can be bad for users’ health if they are drinking too much. In addition, if there are other businesses that are selling bad products but still advertising them through sports events and celebrities, this can cause bad reputation for them, too. This is a powerful testament on how large companies can make bad effects to sports by promote their products.

Taking everything into consideration, while it maybe justifiable for large associations make money by selling products through sports events can be that bad, I still believes that it is truly bad for sports, especially when sports people who do not know about those products but still promote them.