Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? You should give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge to support your response.

knowledge of local language is a must nowadays , India is known for different cultures and for their mother-tongue likewise in mumbai people know their local language marathi , in punjab when visitors visit they expect people there welcoming in their own language.

both the languages have equal values. but our local language is something we should be proud of being an indian my mother tongue is hindi and it is taught in all the states of india as well as i also know how to speak english well i have been taught both the languages since childhood. local language in some areas are at risk of dying out it should be valued same in other places also i have few friends of punjab also they also have punjabi in their syllabus as it is compulsory for them to learn how to speak and write.

i once went to nepal with my family , we were delighted to see them following their traditions and not leaving behind on them. i felt it heart-warming i tried interacting with them in their language some people there guided me few words. its quite important for all to never forget their roots where they come from or broughton up from.

In my school there was an additional subject for languages if any student requires a knowledge of french , marathi , korean and tamil. in my opinion i believe being stuck or dependent on one foreign language would be a barrier in success and personal development.