"Learning Shouldn't Have a Price Tag: Advocating Equal Access to Education"

In a world driven by knowledge, education is often seen as the great equalizer—yet for millions of Filipino students, it remains an unaffordable privilege. Despite free public education, many still struggle due to burdens, lack of support , and other challenges that we may encounter. I believe, education should not carry a price tag—it is a right that must be accessible to all, regardless of status, work, or ability. Hence, this kind of challenges or issue needs to be address urgently.

One factors that can affect unequal access to education is the Financial Burden that hindered most of the Filipinos students having an access to education. Students from low-income families may face barriers to accessing quality education, including limited resources and support. Although Philippines has launch initiatives such as the Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program (4Ps), this isn’t enough to have access in education. According to the Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA) reported that , poverty incidence among families was still quite high, suggesting that more comprehensive interventions are needed. We need to think about what else we can do to make sure every child, no matter where they live, has a chance to learn.

Secondly, Inclusive Support matters. All students including those with disabilities can access through equal education and they must be accepted and to participate in all aspects of school life . According to (Ramchand & Dummugudem, 2014), Inclusive education should furthermore concern itself with identifying and overcoming barriers for the continuous, quality and meaningful participation of children with disabilities. Sometimes due to the ability of the students they are prone to discrimination and being left behind — the reason why they aren’t equally access through education.

Lastly, the government should prioritize more investment to empower learners to achieve an equal access in education. The government needs to increase their investment in order to have an equal access in education. According to (Orbeta Jr. & Abrigo, 2023) , there must be a shift in focus to manage the government’s limited resources and the public’s need for better quality education and training. Due to the government unlimited money, it needs to focus more on spending effectively, especially on improving the quality of education for empowering learners. Investing in better school buildings, improved teacher training, and thorough student support matters a lot.

To conclude, education is a fundamental right that should not be limited by any financial burden, lack of inclusive support, or not enough government investment. To truly promote equal access, we must address the financial burdens faced by many families, provide inclusive and supportive learning environments for all students, and prioritize more investment in the educational sector. Every child, regardless of their background or ability, deserves the opportunity to learn, grow, and succeed. Advocating for equal access to education is not just a call for fairness—it is a commitment by to empower every learner.