Leisure is a growing industry, but people no longer entertain themselves as much as they used to because the use of modern technology has made them less creative. Agree or disagree?

It is undeniable fact that leisure activities had shown a significant inclination. However, it has been observed that people do not enjoy as they used to do before due to the utilization of modern technology. It has made them less productive. As per my perspective, I completely lean towards this opinion. My views will be elaborated further with pertinent examples in the ensuing paragraphs.

In this cutting-edge era, modern technology usage has been rapidly growing in all the age groups. It has made them addictive and lazy. Earlier young folks use to wait for their summer holidays where they can learn different water sports or and skills which could benefit them in the future, whereas; nowadays they prefer to play games on their computer or mobile phone. To cite an example, recent survey of Western university depicted that a sharp decline was observed in co-curricular activities participation from youngsters due to the introduction of modern technology into the market.

Moreover, people nowadays have become completely reliable on new technology. They do not try to solve problem on their own, they give it to the artificial intelligence and rely on it to give them magical solution. It has highly affected their way of thinking and made them less creative. For an example, weeks ago a news channel telecasted a news that elucidated how the students became proactive due to the use of ChatGPT during their assignment and project.

On the contrary, modern technology as its own pros as well. It has also made people creative. To elaborate, folks have started using latest technology such as YouTube to learn new skills. They watch videos about it on the online platform and try to imitate in the real life. It has not only made them proactive but also made them learn a new skill at fingertips. To exemplify, recently an article was published by The Times of India, stated that a young boy of rural area who did not have any school or college learned coding and created his first application on his own and was recognised by google.

To conclude with my opinion, I believe that people’s way of entertainment has highly been compromised by the utilization of latest technology, but if it could be used in appropriate way then it could benefit them in the future. Thus, I stand steadfast with my opinion.