Life skills should be taught at schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that schools should change their approach to education and focus more on life skills, such as working in a team and solving problems rather than teaching academics. My two cents go for prioritising practical skills, as they are essential in everyday life, while academic knowledge can be acquired when students are specialised in one field.

One of the strongest reasons to support authentic skill is the importance of flexibility and critical thinking in career success. Whatever the profession, a person is expected to communicate and collaborate with other individuals. Traditional academic subjects, such as algebra and historical dates might not be helpful for each person in working life. For example, modern employers increasingly prioritize workers with creative and effective approaches to problems, since these qualities determine productivity in the workplace and highlight company among others.

Furthermore, reducing “non-essential” academic subjects saves students from wasting their valuable time. The general academic curriculum requires memorising complex theories that are never applied in practice. Once students become mature enough to choose their career path, they can study the relevant material for their field more accurately and more effectively. Master’s students, for example, where adults successfully master complex theories in a few years, because they were focused on one specific field. Intensively master demanding theories in only a year or two, since their focus is purposeful and narrow.

In conclusion,I totally believe that schools must adapt their education toward teaching essential life skills. Equipping young people with the tools for flexibility and critical thinking prepares them for the problems of daily life and gives them career opportunities, while theoretical academic knowledge is best left for the period of future specialisation.