Life was better when technology was simpler. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology has changed our lives in various ways both good and bad. It is often argued that our lives were more fulfilled before technological advancements. This essay disagrees with this statement as the advent of technology has made significant improvements to people by making our lives more convenient. Additionally, it has expanded opportunities for many.

Firstly, tech innovation has made many everyday tasks less tedious. There is no need to fill out lengthy paperwork at government offices, appointments can be easily booked online, and everything is available at our fingertips. People don’t have to stand in long queues to pay bills or book tickets. Everything can be done in the comfort of our own home, from ordering groceries to books to electronics to clothes. In India, one can forget their wallet when they leave the house and still be fine as they can pay with UPI from their phone.

Another benefit of tech is that it has made work and educational opportunities accessible to everyone, especially underprivileged people. Now, people from lower socio-economic backgrounds can learn online by paying minimal to no fees from various platforms like EdX, Coursera, or YouTube. Moreover one can choose to work from home, helping them to stay with their loved ones as they don’t have to move away to a different place just for work, thereby increasing their overall happiness. These people would have otherwise ended up lonely in an alien city. On that same note, technology has allowed people to connect from each other all over the world.

To conclude, technology if used widely is a powerful tool for human development which would make our lives better.