Littering is an increasing problem in many countries. What is the reason for this? What measures can be taken to tackle it?

Nowadays,one problem that commonly happens is illegal garbage dumping, which has significantly increased over the last few decades. Littering can lead to severe environmental consequences; for instance littering can cause the underground water supply be contaminated,which can be the reason for many diseases in humans.

Clearly, there are many factors that contribute to the increase in waste.

One of the most significant reasons for the rise of this problem is a decline in social consciousness; people do not care to pollute the environment. To solve this problem and increase people’s awareness, public campaigns should encourage individuals to clean up the environment and educate them about harmful effects of littering. For example, the mentioned campaign ought to hold the ceremonies in nature to clean up garbage and share them on social media as a challenge to get involved people.

Moreover,in modern age,the amount of waste that everyone makes is considerably higher than people in the past, because many individuals use plastic bags and many disposable things that cause more waste. To tackle this issue, governments must impose penalties for people who litter more than standards. Another helpful way to reduce the amount of litter is people bring their own bags to shops or their own glasses to cafes.

To sum up,the rise in littering is a complex problem influenced by numerous factors.To address this issue, a combination of education and government cooperation is required.