Logging of the rainforests is a serious problem and it may lead to the extinction of animal life and human life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, forests are being destroyed by humans which has led to the extinction of wildlife and human beings. From my point of view, I completely agree with the given statement since cutting down trees is leading to a loss of biodiversity and causing air pollution.

Forests are the main source of food and shelter for a wide variety of animals and insects. As soon as forests are cut down by human beings, animals are forced to leave their homes. Consequently, they are not capable of adapting to a new environment and they become vulnerable to new diseases outside of their shelter, which leads to death and loss of species. For instance, the logging of the rain forests in Madagascar from 2011, has led to the extinction of Madagascar chimpanzee, and the population of this species has plunged by 560%. Therefore, deforestation caused by human activities can lead to the death of populations of species that live there.

Logging of the forests not only affects animals negatively but also human beings by causing air pollution. A quarter of the oxygen in the Earth’s atmosphere is produced by trees. Moreover, trees not only produce oxygen but they also use carbon dioxide to make glucose. As a result, while forests are constantly being cut down, this is affecting the amount of carbon dioxide and oxygen in the atmosphere. Air pollution happens because of the increased amount of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere; since forests are being destroyed, this increases the amount of carbon dioxide in the air, thus causing air pollution. This causes breathing problems and insufficient oxygen uptake by the lungs, thus leading to lung diseases. According to the BBC, for the last 50 years, over 34% of all forests on Earth were cut down, and this increased the amount of carbon dioxide in the air from 0.04% to 1%. Therefore, air pollution arising from the logging of trees has a negative effect on the well-being of people.

In conclusion, I totally agree that the logging of trees is causing the loss of biodiversity and causing air pollution, which, as a result, is harmful to individuals. Therefore, it has a negative impact on both humans and wildlife.