Low physical activity People do less physical exercise than before. Why is this happening? What can be done to encourage more exercise?

In recent years the level of physical activeness among people has declined considerably. This is primarily driven by the changes in work, lifestyles and urbanization. I believe, by creating the most effective strategies with social support, accessible environments and motivational tools individuals can be encouraged to exercise more.

One of the main reasons for the decline in exercising is the sedentary jobs and lifestyles. More people work in offices or remote settings and spend a lot of time sitting. Moreover, smartphones, computers and streaming services reduce the need for the physical movement. Another key factor is the urbanization. Cities are built around cars, exceeding reliance on cars most of the time instead of walking or cycling. Additionally, there is the scarcity of safe parks and recreational facilities in many urban areas, making it difficult for people to find spots for exercising and increasing health risks because of lack of physical activity.

There are several ways to make people take initiative to exercise. Firstly, setting goals should be the top priority as without a purpose even one step can not be taken. This practice should be started small by taking stairs instead of elevators, walking short distances instead of taking transportations or simply stretching during breaks, for example. Humans stick to exercise when it is their favorite, whether it is dancing, cycling, swimming or different sports. Exercising can also be encouraged by making it social. Practicing with friends and family or joining group classes or setting up friendly competitions can help to build consistency and motivate people to stay active.

In conclusion, the changes in daily routine and the technology are the main causes of the reduction in physical activeness and this issue can be addressed by creating accessible spots for community to exercise and encouraging active play, sports, and physical education in schools and workplaces to instill habits early.