Machine- made products have now replaced many hand- made products. Do you think the merits of this development outweigh its demerits? Why?

In contemporary society, many products are now made by machinery rather than by hand. While this development can have its drawbacks, I strongly believe that its advantages outweigh them. This essay will explore both arguments and the reasons for my stance.

Products made by machines strip away true creativity and craftsmanship, which are significantly found in hand-made items. Culture can be incorporated in hand-made items, especially in clothing pieces, making them unique and artistic. However, as machine-made goods dominate the market, the demand for hand-made products has greatly declined. This leads to the loss of cultural representation, as traditional skills, techniques, and stories passed down through generations are gradually forgotten, weakening the connection between people and their cultural heritage.

Conversely, due to advancements in technology, items can now be made efficiently with the use of machines. Through machines, products can be made at a faster pace. Additionally, severable perishable goods can be reproduced in large amounts. For example, food items such as candies, chocolates, and snacks, can be quickly produced by a machine in huge quantities. Another reason why this is a positive development is because machine-made items are cheaper. Machine-made products have lower prices compared to hand-made products because it does not involve a lot of human labor. Human labor is known to allocate a large proportion of a company’s expenditure. Hence, by reducing the share of labor, it significantly reduces the total cost of products.

In conclusion, although machine-made products can be disadvantageous to a nation’s culture, their merits supersedes them due to efficiency and affordability, benefitting the society and global economy.