Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this ? Is this a positive or negative development?

A sustainable number of grown-up people are prone to spend their spare time playing computer games. This essay will observe all the possible reasons why this tendency has appeared. I believe that it is likely to be a negative phenomenon, because the number of hours spent by playing digital games may seem terrifying.

To go into details, I would like to underline the fact that nowadays we have to accept the fact that digital industry has conquered and occupied the whole world. I adhere the point of view that playing computer games is a viable solution that helps adults to avoid all the stresses of the harsh reality and get deep to the digital one. Moreover, computer games are commonly known for their affordability and accessibility; in addition to that, they provide an extremely immersive and pleasant experience to the player. The games, in fact, offer players with interactive gameplay mechanics, visually attractive graphics and sound, and engaging storylines. For instance, for an average working on a full-time job adult an evening session of playing computer games will help to relax, forget about all the burning issues, and not to face deep and personal mental problems and warnings.

But there is commonly used and statistically proven fact that every phenomenon has its advantages and disadvantages. As an undesirable consequence, playing online games disclose the burning problem that individuals’ inability to socialize and build up relationships is increasingly growing and not set to disappear; modern generation prefers digital world to of-line reality. This may lead to a number of serious mental diseases, such as: depression, anxiety, and insomnia.

To conclude, though computer games help people to maintain their stress level, they must not be used as a way to escape real problems and replaced by real communications.