Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

Whilst some people agree that modern technology has brought people together through globalisation, others claim that it has isolated the individuals with its social media. In this essay I will discuss how, despite the fact that modern technology made communication easier, it has indeed, separated us from our own reality.

On the one hand, being able to get in touch with someone in a different continent with a simple click has shown a great improvement in communication, rather than waiting for days, or maybe months to hear back from individuals. Applications like WhatsApp, Skype, and many more, plays a huge role in making that happens. For instance, someone who lives in Tokyo, now is able to pick up the phone, and with a simple touch can make a video call with another who is living in New York, and can chat with as if they are in front of each others.

On the other hand, social media is a double-edged sword in modern technology. Although it plays a huge role in globalisation, it isolated individuals from their own reality. Every person, nowadays, have a social media account, whether it is Facebook or Instagram. They would be sitting scrolling without getting in contact with the real world they live in, and their head is only in their phone.

In conclusion, it is correct that modern technology has brought far people together, but it has separated the close one. Personally, I believe that technology should be used wisely, and for the good reasons, rather than sitting pointlessly scrolling on the phone, and avoid the reality we live in.