Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The effect of technology on bringing people together is a hotly debated topic. I share the majority people’s viewpoint that it has led us to come together, although others think it has separated us apart. The main reason why I agree with the first belief is that people nowadays find it easy to communicate with their relatives or friends who live abroad.

To begin with, the discovery of communication platforms, such as WhatsApp, Imo, Telegram, etc., have made it easy to contact someone and share various ideas. This, in turn, has brought people across the globe together in my opinion, and has made collaborations in various aspects very easy. For example, the previous COVID-19 pandemic was halted by global research networks and this might not have happened if it was not for our advancement in technology. The platforms mentioned previously, along with the advances made in our transport systems have made solving a global problem together easy. Similarly, some technologies have made sharing resources very easy, and I believe, this has a positive effect on bringing us together.

On the other hand, some people think that technology has led to the separation of people associated with technology addiction. I think they are arguing due to the fact that some people nowadays are becoming addicted to some technologies, especially those related to gaming. For example, young generations may spend all day playing virtual games, and this may facilitate loneliness. However, this effect is seen only in a fraction of the population and I don’t think it has brought that much separation of people on a global scale.

In summary, I agree that technology, despite some undesirable outcomes, has brought people across the globe together and is improving our roles in bringing solutions to a variety of global challenges.