Many children are encouraged by their parents to get a part time job in their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Part-time jobs can be an alternative for children to spend their spare time. In this essay, I will explain why the benefits overshadow their potential drawbacks.

On the one hand, getting involved in part time employment could pose two challenges to children. Firstly, it may distract the children from their school life, as they usually get overwhelmed with their part time job responsibilities. To illustrate, because of a heavy workload, it is probable that they will end up not having enough time to study or even ignoring their schoolwork. As a result, the children may face difficulty focusing on their academic life, which could potentially lead to poor academic performance.

Secondly, the children may have a lack of time even if they can maintain the right balance between their school life and their work life, considering that they normally spend one-third of their day at school. Because of this busy lifestyle, they will probably have limited freedom to study, to rest, and even to socialize with their peers. Such poor work-life balance could lead to mental fatigue and physical exhaustion.

On the other hand, I would argue that having a parttime job offers more benefits to children. Firstly, it enables children to work with others, which can greatly help them at a later stage in life. For example, by being exposed to real work environment, they can get a chance to learn a number of skills such as communication. As a result, they can work in a team since most companies nowadays look for teamwork ability. Furthermore, having a parttime job means that children can earn a salary. As they learn to be financially independent, they can not only help reduce their parents’ expenditures, but they can also learn about managing their finances, which could be beneficial for their future.

In conclusion, while having a part-time job might cause children to distracted from their academic and have a lack of free time, it enables them to gain valuable work experience and earn a salary. Therefore, on balance I remain firmly convinced that the drawbacks are eclipsed by the benefits.