Many cities have installed cameras in public places in order to reduce crime. However, some people think that those cameras restrict our privacy. Do you think the advantages of this system outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, due to the development of technology, the installation of cameras in public areas has increased to reduce criminal activities.However, some people believe that the camcorder can affect personal life.This trend both has merits and shortcomings but the writer of this essay concedes the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

To begin with, video surveillance is highly beneficial in reducing the crime rate.To be more specific, offenders can be easily captured by the cameras.Consequently, lawbreakers may be scared and try to avoid committing crimes again.Moreover, some sinners may be aware of the evidence that the Polaroid was caught due to the anxiety of being fined.For example in Japan which began installing 10,000 video cameras in 2019,as a result, the rate of crime reduced rapidly by 20% compared to the time before the cameras were installed.Hence, camcorders play an important role in preventing felons.

On the other hand, traffic recorders can also be helpful in finding missing things.To be more clear,when residents lose their property police officers can easily track back the recorder to support the missing person to find the objects which were lost.In addition, in some situations, there can be disputation of the objects that walkers pick up on the street and policemen can search those devices via public cameras and clues to one’s belongings .For instance, in the USA variety of things have been lost but the owner can find the things they lost after coming to the police station.Indeed,camcorders are extremely advantageous in finding people in need and goods.

In contrast,the main drawback is that cameras influence the residents’ freedom.Obviously,the existence of public cameras can disturb the private life.To put it simply, some people are apprehensive and can conveniently get hurt if someone tries to monitor them.This can totally affect their mental health.Take India as an example,there was a suicide because the victim felt stress while the cameras always filmed him and he could not stand that pressure so the solution he chose was to stop his life.

In conclusion, the number of cameras installed in public places is increasing.The advantages of this phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages.Thus,authorities should invest more in placing cameras in the public space.