Many claim that the fast food industry had a negative effect on environment, eating habit and families. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, fast food related business has become one of the most widespread industries. Due to this trend, some people argue that it has a dreadful impact on such aspect of life as habit of eating, as well as on families and environment as a whole. I am a proponent of this idea since drawbacks of fast food consumption outweigh the advantages.

To begin with, it is evident that consumption of fast food is closely linked to various diseases. This can be demonstrated by the fact that street food mainly consists of high-calorie ingredients that can have a negative impact on our health. Results of several researchers, for instance, indicate that people who consume junk food most of the time are more likely to suffer from such diseases as diabetes or obesity. Moreover, majority of families rely on fast food nowadays. This can can lead to the development of poor eating habits, such as overeating and a preference for unhealthy food. Due to the fact that diseases acquired after excessive eating of fast food are often permanent and inherited, it can have a negative impact on subsequent generations.

In addition, fast food corporations negatively influence on environment. In some areas of the world fast food chains are considered to be the cause of pollution, deforestation and excessive waste. As an example, plastic bags and bottles that all fast food chains use on a daily basis in vast quantities are not reusable and not recycled. Furthermore, fast food production requires overuse of resources. In order to produce product for fast food, especially meat, the large amounts of animals, water and soil are needed. This can put a strain on a local economy and contribute to a scarcity of valuable resources.

To sum up, maybe fast food can be advantageous in some rare cases, but the negative impacts that it brings are tremendous and cannot be compensated.