Many companies are increasingly using artificial intelligence (AI) to replace human workers. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The tasks that were once performed by employees are now being carried out by artificial intelligence and a rising number of companies are opting for this change. I firmly believe that the disadvantages, particularly widespread job displacement and excessive dependence, far outweigh the advantages such as improving workplace efficiency.

While looking at the benefits of AI, the most important benefit is the enhanced efficiency it provides. Artificial intelligence can automate repetitive tasks and reduce the time required for such tasks to be done. This increases the productivity of a company and reduces the overall operating costs. For instance, the companies using AI for routine tasks are more likely to have lower operational costs than the ones not using it. Despite these advantages, the massive drawbacks of AI can never be ignored.

Artificial intelligence replaces certain roles due to which workers become unemployed. Consequently, there is an increase in competition for remaining jobs among unemployed job seekers. This also creates financial insecurity, particularly for workers whose skills are easily automated. Another disadvantage is the overdependence of businesses on automated systems which results in decreasing trust on human work. Thus, automated systems, while being trusted by companies, can pose a great threat to human jobs.

In conclusion, I argue that the drawbacks of Artificial intelligence including its widespread job replacement and overdependence by businesses far outweigh its benefits such as increased efficiency and productivity by automation.