Many companies are now implementing a four-day workweek. Do the advantages of this new work structure outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, four-day workweeks has been operated in multiple companies. This essay will discuss the benefits and downsides associated with this shift, and how it will be a desirable adjustment for the future.

Many advocates of this policy perceive that it fosters employees’ work-life balance, which is undoubtedly one of the essential factors in work culture. With the additional day off, individuals can have more time to enjoy their leisure activities apart from their professional area, enhancing mental well-beings and reducing stresses. The positive emotions stemmed from this can boost their work performance accordingly, since people tend to perform more effectively without pressure. Additionally, since tasks are expected to be completed in a limited period, the modern four-day workweeks culture may strengthen workers’ time management capability.

On the flip side, removing one workday can also result in several unfavourable consequences. This implementation will undeniably slower overall job-related processes because they can solely be performed during the four working days. Therefore, employees may still need to finish their assigned scopes and submit them regardless of days. Furthermore, it is apparent that it is not suitable for every corporation. For instance, services companies with heavy reliance on customer service department are likely to receive customer complaints if they are not always available.

From my perspective, the change in work culture demonstrates a desirable future of work, due to its primary benefit of promoting work-life balance. Despite the potential drawbacks, I firmly believe that they can be mitigated if companies deliberately analyze the strategy before executing it.

To summarize, four-day workweeks can induce favorable emotions connected to working, and improve time management skill. However, it can slower business processes as staff becomes more unavailable, and is not universally appropriate for every firm. Looking ahead, I think it will be a beneficial shift for the future if it is implemented with cautious.