Many countries are expanding their tourist industries. Is it a positive or negative trend?

These days, tourism is increasingly becoming an essential demand of humans, leading to the fact that some nations have been investing a great deal of money to enlarge this industry. From my perspective, I firmly believe that this trend will have both benefits and drawbacks for our society and the environment.

Undeniably, the advancement of tourist industries can exert many positive effects. Firstly, this tendency is an ideal way to express the national character as well as enhance the prevalence of each country through spreading the culture, cuisine and historical landscapes. Taking Japan as an example, when mentioning this country, most people will immediately think about the cuisine of fresh seafood such as sushi or the symbol of the rising sun land. Furthermore, the remarkable growth of tourism can promote and strengthen the domestic economy. After a long period of Covid-19, several countries have been suffering from the economic crisis, which makes a number of enterprises face the risk of bankruptcy, leading to the high unemployment rate.The tourist industry will be an effective method to assist many countries to overcome this challenging interval.

Nevertheless, there are a variety of reasons why I believe that thriven tourist manufacturing causes society and the environment to undergo some difficulties. The rising number of visitors can lead to environmental degradation by an array of disapproving behaviors, such as throwing rubbish at public areas, which pollutes the soil and air. In particular, cruise travel has been known to contaminate the ocean, having detrimental effects on marine creatures and ecosystems. Additionally, it is admitted that some tourists exhibit poor actions while visiting cultural sites, which can include damaging historical landmarks or disrespecting sacred places. Such behaviors not only bring long-lasting unfavorable impacts on the preservation of important landscapes but also make the youngster’s cognition diminish.

In conclusion, while there are many benefits regarding the expansion of tourism related to the culture and economy, I contend that it is important for tourists to be educated about the significance of historical landmarks and encouraged to show respect and responsibility while traveling, which can reduce the consequences of this tendency.