Many customs and traditional ways of behavior are no longer relevant to modern life and not worth keeping. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there exists a topic for the discussion about the relevance of traditional ways of behaviour. Some people suppose that such kind of behavior is suitable for a modern life, others argue that it is not. I suppose that it is possible to behave in a traditional way. Let me weigh in.

First of all, I should underline that there are much more traditional elements in our existence than we notice in everyday life and the majority of people create something that has a traditional base. For example, in the Russian Federation (and not only) there is the tradition to hang a lock at the bridge as a sign of eternal love. Needless to say, a majority of couples in Russia behave in this way and believe in this action. If an enormous number of people act like this, it happens to be suitable and relevant for the modern days.

Generally, there are a lot of customs that apperanced historically and they have been improved within a society’s development, so generations pass this information one by one in respect the modern rules and it is not strange at all. I can claim that customs and traditions transfer according to the modern condition of a society and its requirements. To be brutally honest, a few centuries ago people celebrated the New Year, for example, in a different way: they cooked other dishes, more often invited neighbors. But nowadays the tradition of celebrating the New year exists too, however it is added with modern details (watching special movies on TV before the holiday, digital congratulation and so on).

To sum it up, traditions, customs and appropriate behavior are possible in the modern days due to the fact that it surrounds us in everyday life and it changes century by century so it remains suitable for today.