Many customs and traditional ways of behavior are no longer relevant to modern life and not worth keeping. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world most customs and traditional behaviors are irrelevant and unnecessary to keep. Although I, to a large extend, agree with this notion, I still acknowledge the disadvantages this trend can bring.

One reason of drawbacks this approach can create lies in retaining cultures. If some people start refusing from customs and traditional ways of behavior, then it is likely that many cultural values will be lost. Individuals living in a rapidly changing world might completely forget the roots they came from, meaning that their cultural development eventually becomes identical. Take, for example, the trending of wearing European clothes in central Asia. Due to this, young people from Asian countries have stopped wearing their national clothes, making them looking similar to Europeans. This can eventually lead to disappearance of country’s cultural heritage.

However, at the same time, some customs and traditional outlooks are not worth keeping. In the past, following traditions women were forced getting married at a very young age. Girls were not allowed to work or study, instead all their obligations were associated with the household. With the modern world advancements and changes of viewpoints towards traditions, equality between two genders established. This means, some traditions and customs should not be followed, as they cannot cope with today’s modern world, especially those traditions that have a harsh undertaking.

In conclusion, while there is a high risk of cultural loss, the advantages of avoiding many customs and traditional manners outweigh disadvantages. I firmly believe that the large use of customs and traditional opinions should not continue and be forgotten.