Many factors motivate people in the workplace. Some people think money is the most important. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that earning is the most crucial elements that drive people to devote themselves to work. Although, I am in consummate accord with this perspective, I still think other contributors including the working environment and the job satisfaction are also essential and motivating factors that can make people work harder.

On the one hand, money is undoubtedly motivator for most workers. Firstly, people need a stable income to meet their basic needs like food, housing and also support other aspects of life such as recreation, education, and healthcare. Without sufficient financial resource, individuals might be struggle to maintain a decent standard of living. Secondly, higher salary and bonuses can encourage employees to work harder and be more productive. For instance, many workers are willing to work overtime or take on additional responsibilities to earn more money. Therefore, financial incentives are a powerful driving force in the workplace. In addition, there is a phenomenon that employees are willing to switch their companies mainly for higher salaries. Especially, competitive salary is also an attractive factor that help many company attract talented people and potential candidate for their vacant position.

On the other hand, I believe that non-financial factors also play a significant role n employee motivation. One important aspect is job satisfaction. People are more motivated when their work meaningful and enjoyable, even if salary is not exceptionally high. For example, teachers, doctors and nurses work harder than any other professional because they feel they have responsibility to save lives and guideline for children to become good citizens. In addition, a positive working environment, including supportive colleagues and good management, can greatly improve employees’ morale. Furthermore, opportunities for career development is equally important, as many individuals seek personal growth and long-term success rather than just immediate financial gain. For example, some employees choose the company like Google not only for competitive salary but also for their excellent working environment and clearly opportunities promotions.

In conclusion, I believe that although money has an important role in motivation workers, other essential factors like the job satisfaction, positive working environment and opportunities for promotions are equally crucial in motivate workers and make them work harder and improve their productivity.