Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Mostly eatables are transported from long distances. Some individuals believe that consuming locally grown food is safer for the environment and is more affordable. In the following paragraphs, I will be discussing both advantages and disadvantages.

First of all, To transport food from the far places requires big engines to carry the load which not only burns the excessive fossil fuels but also increase the cost of the product. Moreover, while being shipped the food is packed with the preservatives which when consumed cause harmful side effects on our body.

Secondly, Supporting the local market comes with many benefits such as the food is more fresh and affordable and easily available. Furthermore, it is more trustworthy to purchase eatables from local farmers. In addition to this, the locally grown food is nurtured under normal circumstances and is seasonal and provides variety.

However, It does come with the few drawbacks, In order to get the authentic continental food it has to be shipped. People cannot find the authenticity in local town food. Last but not least the import and export between two or more countries builds healthy relation and provide jobs and infrastructure in the country.

Conclusively, after discussing both the positive and negatives, I believe, that consuming local food rather than transporting food from far away has more advantages than its drawbacks.