Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some governments consider economic progress as their top priority while others believe that different kinds of development are just as significant. In my opinion, everything should be improved in the country such as social and environmental progress to provide higher quality of life.

On the one hand, it is understandable why many governments concentrate on the growth of economy. A strong economy leads to higher living standards and allow people to be educated and healthier making the country noticeable in global rates. For example, economic growth in China has led to improved lifestyles of citizens and increased their influence over other countries. Therefore, focusing on economic progress can bring stability and temporary benefits.

On the other hand, I believe that other forms of progress such as sustainability and social welfare, are even more essential to maintain long-term benefits. Because social progress ensures that people fairly benefit from governmental wealth through access to education healthcare and other opportunities. At the same time environmental progress helps to protect nature. For instance, Central Asian countries including Uzbekistan invest in greening the streets and building more parks for not only for professional sportsmen’s but also to allow people to enjoy clear air. This shows that focusing on people’s well being and sustainability leads to more balances and lasting success .

In conclusion, while economic progress is important to have independence and leadership, I suggest that government’s prime goal should be developing areas of public well-being and saving nature. A truly successful county is one that values well-being of its nation and the planet.