Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Governments and people have had a conflict on what to prioritize since the beginning. Politicians believe that economic progress should be their number one priority, while others agree that other types of progression (such as healthcare, education) should be taken into consideration just as equally.

The governments are used to putting economy as their crucial goal. If economy is unstable, so will the lives of the country’s population be. A stable economy helps the government have enough profit for investment into areas such as the education system, infrastructure, healthcare and hospitals. If, for example, because of a war or any other type of global conflict, the economy becomes unstable, not only will there be a deficit, but the prices of all products will rise. This way, economy is prioritized so that every other essential aspect of a country’s well-being can be met easily, without the risk of an economical crisis.

However, people think otherwise. Some governments prioritize economy without taking other types of progression into account. Thus fields such as education and healthcare lack in funds and development. This affects the quality of both children and adults, as the education system will not provide enough knowledge or resources for them to reach their goals, and the health system will cost more than people can afford. For example, the healthcare in the USA is lacking in many areas. Health insurance doesn’t exist for most people and the prices are extreme to the point where a lot of people can’t afford to look after themselves.

As far as I’m concerned, the government’s approach would work only when other aspects aren’t overlooked. Through this perfect way, the balance between economy and other crucial areas is just and perfectly managed. Of course, this would be possible only if world peace also exists, as global conflicts affect the economy beyond the point of balance. For example, the current war in Iran has affected my country in addition to the already existing economical crisis. Gas prices have almost doubled and products in supermarkets have only gotten more expensive each day. In this current state, balance can’t be talked as it is simply impossible to bring back a stable economy and also invest into other areas.

In summary, both approaches have their own positive points, but one cannot exist without the other and the perfect solution is only possible in the case of a peaceful world.