some people believe that if police force carries guns, it can encourage a higher level of violence. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some people that armed police officers promote a greater degree of violence. I personally believe that armed police officers can cause no harm to us and they need to have it in order to protect themselves.

My first argument to support my opinion is that even if gun ownership is totally illegal in a country, yet criminals can still manage to get one. Police officers are responsible for taking care of all the citizens’ safety and wearing guns largely make sure of this. For example, if a criminal is trying to commite crime, he would think twice if there’s a police with guns on patrol. Therefore, guns deter the potential criminals to a large extent.

Secondly, criminals are always ready to make violence to escape from the punishment. Criminals can easily shoot police officers if they have no safety. On the other hand, armed police officers are always proactive on their duty and equipped to jump into the violent situation, if they know they can protect themselves.

To sum up, criminals can easily come into the possession of gun ownership. As a result, it promotes greater degree of violence and make unsafe our police officers. Therefore, police officers need to be armed because armed police as such could never be a cause of violence.