Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many government officials are of the opinion that financial growth is the primary target for a country to evolve in the right direction, whereas others believe there are other aspects too, that need to be taken into consideration. Both of these opinions have advantages and disadvantages.

In many countries, governments primarily strive to reach economic growth and therefore make it possible to continue to allocate monetary funding in many areas, especially in the business sector. If they are able to provide financial resources, corporations would grow and the demand for new employers will continuously be wanted. For example, Sweden has offered many working immigrants new employments in highly renowned companies, such as the telephone company Ericson. This has led to significant great profits in the company. Hence, the revenue has generated more tax money and the Swedish government can swiftly continue to subsidize other businesses.

On the other hand, there are other aspects that also need to be taken seriously, as a country would not develop in the right direction if welfare, and environmental issues, were neglected. Living in a healthy environment where the air pollution is not affecting the human health, more citizens would be able to work. Simultaneously, hospitals would provide the citizens with great service and care, which in turn improves the overall health of a population. For instance, people in Japan are already working extra hours, and that has led to detrimental health effects, such as depression, and the development of cardiovascular illnesses. With less people working, the lower the economic growth. Therefore, it is of importance not to neglect other aspects, as they will certainly contribute to a nation’s development.

In conclusion, there are many important aspects to take into consideration for a nation’s success, by only focusing on financial growth, many other sectors, such as welfare and environmental concerns would cause detrimental outcomes for a country. For this reason, when governments have equal goals in different sectors, countries would benefit far more.