When individuals with cultural differences work and live together, they are said to be living in a multi-cultural society. Do you believe that the advantages of living in a multi-cultural society outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that if people from different cultures work and live together, they might be living in a multi-cultural society. While there are some drawbacks to this, they are outweighed by the benefits.

There are several downsides when individuals with cultural differences live and work together. Firstly, language barriers, people from different cultures may not speak same language fluently. It can cause misunderstandings and several conflicts, which can affect their productivity in the workplaces and this results in unnecessary tension. Additionally, some culture’s rituals might contradict and be considered inappropriate in other cultures. For example, in some cultures it is acceptable to eat beef while in other eating this type of meat is not allowed, and same as social norms, beliefs, and customs. Due to these reasons, many people avoid to live and work together with people from different cultures.

However, despite the drawbacks, the advantages are far more important. One of them is cultural exchange, they can learn wide range of traditions from other cultures. People can learn, for instance, about different traditional dresses and learn different cultures’ languages. These can broaden peoples’ horizon about several countries and traditions. Moreover, when people from different cultures live and work together, they may respect other nations and help each other in difficult times at work. Thus, these kind of small actions results in kindness and make the world more harmonious.

In conclusion, living and working together with people from other cultures can bring some drawbacks, including language problems. In contrast, there are more benefits, such as respect toward different traditions.