Many individuals have started eating junk food as their main meals. Does the advantages of it outweigh the disadvantages?

In the hustle and bustle of current times, many individuals are drifting towards processed foods as their main courses. In my opinion, there are numerous disadvantages of consuming junk food as compared to the benefits it brings about.

Nowadays, many people have made fast food their baseline of everyday diet. Eating convenience food has some benefits for our younger generation who does not like to spend long hours in the kitchen. Firstly, it is easy to get a takeout following a busy day at work when the person is not left with enough energy to cook themselves. Moreover, the concept of buying fast foodis very convenient during travelling as the travellers do not have to worry about carrying food, thus, giving the benefit of travelling light, and stress free. For example, various fast food chains such as Pizza Hut and KFC have multiple outlets in every country which makes it easy for families with kids to travel hassle free without worrying for food.

On the other hand, consuming junk foods frequently, results in a lot of issues such as obesity. Regular intake of processed, and oily foods for instance, burgers, fries, and pizza, can cause several health problems like high cholesterol, increased risk of diabetes and prompt memory loss, known as dementia. Furthermore, excessive consumption of sugary foods leads to increased fatigue and difficulty in concentration. Consequently, it leads to tooth cavities and eventually, the decay of tooth deteriorating the oral hygiene. In addition, the increased dependence on junk food causes a person to be lazy, thus making them lethargic, and dull most of the time.

In my opinion, I strongly believe that the multiple disadvantages of eating fast food outweigh the advantages of it.