Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a considerable number of people consume food and drink products with high levels of sugar, leading to worse health conditions. I believe that sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar and to lead to better health conditions.

One major reason for my opinion is that, if the costs of sugary products are increased, people will likely buy less of such products. Sugary products such as ice creams and other snacks are sold at relatively low costs. Even people who are not wealthy can afford those prices. However, if the prices of these products go up, people would find it more difficult to afford them and therefore will consume less of such products.

One more reason is that people who become unable to buy sugary products often will likely find a replacement for sugary products. The increased prices can control people’s spending on sugary products, but it cannot restrict people’s demands for sweetness. Thus, people would begin consuming food such as fruits. Unlike sugar, fruits contain natural sweetness. Eating fruits, people would no longer crave sugary products as much as they used to. Also, this fruit-eating habit will effectively enhance people’s health conditions.

As the prices of sugary products become more expensive, it can solve many health problems that come from eating products with high levels of sugar. People who cannot afford the expensive prices of sugary food could find fruits as a replacement. Fruits are healthier than sugary products such as ice creams or soda, and eating fruits will likely lead to better health conditions.