Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Several kinds of food and beverages include high amounts of sugary content, leading to diseases caused by their consumption. Governments implement new methods such as increasing the price of sugary products to discourage people from eating sugar. I strongly believe this approach can be successful because people tend to prefer the more affordable option at a store, particularly between an expensive unhealthy product and an affordable but healthy one.

Many food and drink items contain high levels of sugar, which has a hazardous effect on human health in the long term. For example, diabetes, a disease mainly driven by frequent and abundant consumption of sugar, is inevitable when a human maintains a diet rich in glucose. Therefore, raising the cost of sugary products to encourage people to buy sugar-free food and drinks would be a very sensible measure. I hold the view that this precaution would be pretty beneficial to sustain public health.

Considering a different perspective on the topic, increased prices will probably lead to tension among the masses when the feeling of deprivation kicks in. Since people who are exposed to excessive use of glucose may initially suffer disturbance due to the lack of sugar enzymes in their bloodstream, in contrast to their ordinary habits. However, this uncomfortable situation is not expected to have a strong impact on their daily lives, in my humble opinion. Some sugar addicts may experience intense moments of crisis because of cravings for sugar, but it is not a significant problem, especially when compared to a serious illness like diabetes.

In conclusion, a lot of food and drink products contain sugar abundantly, leading to serious illnesses. An increase in the prices of items rich in glucose can be a useful precaution to hinder possible jeopardies to human health caused by excessive exposure to sugar. Hence, I take a clear stance on this approach, which I strongly agree with.