Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourist but not local people. Why is this cause and what can be done to attract local people to visit these places.

It is believed that a great number of museums and historical sites are favored by foreign visitors rather than locals. This essay will outline some of the major reasons behind this trend and propose effective measures that can be taken to resolve it.

It is possibly said that this issue may be caused by some main factors. The very first reason is that museums and historical attractions are completely new to tourists. This is because they have never seen these before, museums and historical sites are an indispensable part of their travel itinerary, which they become more intrigued than local dwellers. Therefore, visiting these places allow travelers to experience different cultures and traditions, as well as enrich their knowledge about a foreign country where they are exploring. The second cause is familiarity and accessibility. This could be explained by the fact that they might have visited them during school trips or learned in historical lessons so they no longer see these places as interesting. As a result, they may choose to spend their time on other activities such as shopping, going out or even working instead of revisiting museums and historical areas.

In truth, some imperative measures ought to be taken to resolve these prospective issues. Firstly, to rearrange the order of artefacts and exchange items between different museums. When these change the layout of their displays or bring in new objects from another place, the exhibitions become fresher and more exciting. This gives local people a reason to visit again because they know the museum will show some new items, do not the old displays they have seen before. As a result, both museums can attract more local visitors at the same time. Secondly, to integrate more advanced technologies in museums and historical sites to create the most attractive experiences to visitors. Instead of only looking at still life, people can use augmented reality (AR) and virtual reality (VR) to watch how an item was used in the past or what a historical site has changed over hundreds of years. For example, entitled “Viet Nam Dieu Su”, the made-in-Vietnam product applies AR combined with artificial intelligence to recreate historical scenes within the real space of the heritage site in Temple of Literature. Consequently, these features make the visit much more vivid and memorable, which encourages more local people to return to these places instead of seeing them as boring or outdated.

In conclusion, museums and historical sites are visited by foreigners more frequently than locals because of many reasons and it can be solved by implementing those measures simultaneously.