Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourist but not local people. Why is this cause and what can be done to attract local people to visit these places.

Nowadays, more overseas visitors are visiting the cultural heritage of countries, as opposed to local residents. While there are some underlying reasons behind this, some practical measures can be taken to deal with this issue.

One of the primary causes of this problem is the increasing number of foreign people in society. As culture is developing day by day, it attracts more and more people to the nation or some tourists who came before may offer their relatives or friends because of the beauty of those places. Subsequently, it contributes to an explosion in tourism, multiplying the number of them, although it gives a large amount of income to the country’s budget. To tackle this problem, governments should impose a limit on the total number of people in every place. This solution not only reduces overcrowding but it also helps to keep them clear of monuments’ surroundings.

Furthermore, local people have already seen these places and they believe that museums or other historical sites are boring. The reason why is that local residents are exhausted from visiting there and school classes come here every year. However, tourists have not seen such historical places, so it may be interesting to explore for them. But, this may cause a decrease in historical knowledge in societies. To address this issue, introducing incentives is the best solution to take residents’ attention. As a result, numbers may increase and people try to win these types of prizes. At the same time, they can improve their skills through competitions.

In conclusion, some reasons such as big growth in tourism and boring feelings may be tackled with curbing the entrance limit and implementing incentives.