Many museums and historical sites now offer virtual tours. What are the advantages and disadvantages of experiencing these sites remotely compared to visiting in person? Should governments invest more in virtual tourism?

Nowadays, many museums and historical sites offer online tours as an alternative option to offline tours. This option brings more advantages to tourists worldwide to experience the tour with lower budget. However, online tours also have some disadvantages, such as lack of real cultural experience and potential dismissal of museum crews. It is very possible that offline visits will be decreased in the future.

Museum tour can be easily experienced from anywhere, especially for foreign tourists. Thus, the museum tour will also be more accessible and recognised not only in their home country, but also globally. Tourists can spend lower budget to experience the tour. They do not need to book transportations and accommodations to museum as they only need to buy the tickets.

On the other side, online tours provide lack of real experience. Tourists cannot feel, touch, and see what are provided in the museum. If online tours become the trend, the use of technology will be more needed rather than human employees. It can lead to more layoffs and will be impacted to the museum crews.

In conclusion, the trend of museum online tours can provide more opportunities for tourists worldwide and no need for them to spend higher budget to go to the museum. However, tourists cannot feel the real experience of the tours and technology can replace the need of human crews. Offline visits may be decreased in the future, but in my opinion, it will not be replaced fully since offline museum tour experience appears to be more engaging and exciting.