Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a controversial phenomenon that a lot of museums are free to visitors while others make it rechargeable. Personally, considering the negative consequences like preventing to share resources equally and motivate citizens to visit such places, I firmly believe that charging people for admission has more disadvantages than advantages.

In the first place, charging for admission will mostly set up a barrier for visitors, especially for whom are under-privileged people. Although the policy maker may think the fee for visiting isn’t so expensive that some individuals can’t afford that. However, for the disadvantaged people, they prefer to save the money to do priorities, such as purchasing food and clothes, rather than visiting museums, which is regarded as ” join the art or liberty cult” by them. In light of that, the action to charge people won’t ensure the resources are shared with all citizens equally whoever is wealthy or poor.

Moreover, people’s motivation and enthusiasm will be significantly diminished by that. Regarding the characteristic of the society, many people are very reluctant to pay for the visiting of museums. For instance, the Forbidden City in Beijing charges each visitor about 5 dollars for admission, but the National Museum is totally free, where is closed to the Forbidden City. As a result, according to the official statistics, more visitors are willing to visit the National Museum rather than the former one. Therefore, charging for admission will impair people’s enthusiasm to visit museums rather than encouraging them.

In conclusion, since the negative results will be caused by charging for admission, such as but not limited to the inequality of distribution of resources and hindering people to visit museums, my opinion is that it’s a negative development because the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.