many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

There is an increasing number of people who did more illegal acts after their first attempts. In this essay, I will examine the factors and propose some solutions related to those matters.

There are few factors that contribute to this highly concerning issue. Firstly, it’s about poverty and unemployment rate. Citizens who come from highly financial-need backgrounds tend to commit more crimes rather than those who come from sufficient and or wealthy economic backgrounds. In addition, they did this purely because of one main reason, which is they don’t have enough money to support at least for their daily life. To clarify this, people who come from lower economic classes have higher intention to steal things because the essential needs are much higher in price and quantities if compared with their incomes. Secondly, it is due to their criminal history. People who admitted crimes minimum once in their lifetime will affect their chances in the future. This happens because societies these days prefer to have workers who have no criminal history. Moreover, these people will also get social punishment from their surroundings because of their actions during the past which later makes it hard to find jobs, socializing with others, finding other opportunities and many more.

A few ways can be taken to reduce this problem. To begin with, people who are undergoing punishment in jails should be given intensive training by the higher management so they can gain and sharpen their knowledge and skills. In addition, these will help them to survive because they have an additional selling point when they’re entering the job market. Furthermore, hopefully it can overshadow their unlikeable history in the past. Another idea is, the government should build special programs to promote the local small and medium enterprises to drive their economic power locally. Subsequently, these will open job prospects also for the people who are currently unemployed. For instance, citizens in bigger, especially metropolitan cities tend to have higher unemployment rate than in small cities because the competition to get work there is very high and mostly filled by international and multiregional companies. In addition, these happen because the demands for the specific job are very high as well as the skills and knowledge needed must exceed their minimum expectation.

To sum up, higher criminal rates after first attempts are caused by unemployment, poverty and the bad record of criminal history. This essay suggested that the solutions to this problem are twofold: enrich prisoners with intensive training and expand the opportunity of local small and medium enterprises (SMEs).