many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

There are significant numbers of lawbreakers who commit more misconduct after they finish their sanction. This is mainly because the prison regulations lack socialization and rehabilitation to educate the lawbreakers during their punishment. In many cases, offenders also did not get a brief of the type of crime in a country’s law. Following this, there are few considerations that can be taken to solve this issue.

Firstly, offenders can be given materials to encourage them to find their passion. In other words, prison can provide daily socialization regarding skills that offenders can learn. This can alter offenders’ focus from doing more crime and if the lawbreakers have finished their sentences, it can be useful when they search for employment based on their liking. For example, Indonesia’s female prisons have classes with a wide range of subjects; cooking and baking, sewing, and recycling plastics where offenders can choose freely. From these classes, offenders not only learn about specific skills but also how to socialise with their cell mates and how to have good manners from their tutors.

Furthermore, prisons can give knowledge to offenders regarding the level of crimes which are from a country’s regulation. This can be an introduction to crime regulation so that lawbreakers know the consequences of every crime and prohibit them from doing it in the future. For instance, prisons can give executive summaries of the documents for every offender and simultaneously break down each part of the crime and the sanction. They can be also taught in a more engaging way, like by playing games in a group with their cellmates during a class.

In conclusion, the primary reason for more crimes committed by offenders who have just served their punishment is due to a lack of rehabilitation and education. Two measures can be taken to tackle the issue which are providing useful activities that the offenders can learn and socialization on crime regulation.