many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A significant number of offender repeat the crimes when they are released after they complete their first punishment.This essay will discuss the main causes of this issue and also suggest some feasible solutions to tackle the problem of recommitting the offences.

There are various reasons behind this problem, and the root cause of this is the lack of mental support. When a person comes back after serving their first punishment, they need proper mental support, which could be provided by family and friends. Usually, the person faces a lot of criticism from immediate family, and friends also start distancing themselves. For example, a person returning from prison might find themselves isolated and unsupported, which can lead to feelings of hopelessness.As a result, the person would again follow the wrong path of illegal activities. Another obvious reason is the lack of employment opportunities. Nowadays, during the hiring process, almost every employer runs a police clearance check to ensure if there is a criminal record for the candidate. If positive, the application is usually rejected, which leads to unemployment. Consequently, the person is not able to earn enough to lead a stable and comfortable life, dragging them back to crime.

However, there are a number of solutions to solve this problem, and an obvious solution would be ensuring stable employment for released offenders. Authorities should ensure that the person gets a stable job so that they can earn their bread and butter and also fulfill their daily requirements. For example, government could ensure some jobs that encourage companies to hire the offenders and provide them with a source of income and stability. Another effective measure would be providing proper counseling. The offender must be provided with proper counseling, along with their immediate family, before facing the outside world again. This can help them better understand the importance of a crime-free life.Consequently, these measures can significantly reduce the chances of repeated offenses.

To conclude, lack of mental support and employment opportunities appear to be at the root of this critical problem. However, it can be resolved by ensuring the offenders get stable employment and by providing proper counseling to them and their families.