Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation's history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Many old buildings are protected by law because they represent country’s history, but some people think that the old buildings should be destroyed to provide new housing and offices for people.

Firstly, the importance of maintaining old buildings is to protect cultural identity of a country. These buildings are cultural heritage, and this means that they can help people to understand their nation’s past through it. Moreover, these legacies can create the sense of pride for citizens because old properties show the stories of struggles and achievements from their previous generations. It helps individuals to build their connections with their people. Furthermore, this properties can boost economy’s growth by increasing the number of tourists to visit the country. For example, many people come to Indonesia because they are interested and curious to see the cultural heritage of Indonesia like the temple, candi Borobudur, because tourists tend liked to gain their knowledge of it, and this will lead to the number of escalations for tourism to the country.

Secondly, history should not stop the progress of the development because it cannnot be denied that modern society also needs more spaces for housing and offices. Development must be made to improve the quality of life for the people. This means that the progress is more crucial for individuals to live more comfortable. In addition, not all old properties should be knocked down, it is only the unnecessary and immemorial ones that have to be removed.

In conclusion, it is very crucial for people to preserve the old buildings for maintaining their country’s identity, and history must not be the reason to block the progress of growing cities.