Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation's history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

A nation’s history not only includes the events that occurred during its development but also the architecture that has stood tall against the weight of those events. However, people contend that such old buildings should be replaced to make way for new ones.

When a nation is born, it is built from the ground up and this foundation is what gives it an identity. This identity not only comprises the people belonging to that country, or the foods originating from there but also the buildings. Buildings that have been built over time in the timeline of a nation’s history and have been influenced by the pressures of each era. As with anything in nature, things grow old and buildings share the same fate. Old buildings act as a time capsule that has been witness to the growth of a region and that is why it is imperative to preserve them. They hold a cultural importance to a certain country and its people, sometimes even people from other countries who visit such monuments. Moreover, there may even be an emotional aspect attached to old buildings giving more weight to their protection.

Progress is an essential part of any civilization. However, it should not come at the cost of the past. The two can co-exist in a nation where the government builds new infrastructure while also ensuring the old buildings are protected. For example, the Sagrada Familia church in Barcelona is a nexus of culture and tourism, all the while being located in a progressive nation as Spain with plenty of contemporary architecture.

Therefore, old buildings have stood the test of time and deserve to be protected. History is not obstructing progress. History and progress can stand next to each other at the same time, as a reminder of the past and an inspiration for the future