Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation's history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

The country is not only about land and boarders, but also about persons residing there, their history, and their culutre. Almost all countries in the world have their own architectures resembling to the lifestyle of people since centuries back. Rules are imposed to its citizens so that the government can protect these old artifacts. However, there are a significant number of residants, who think demolition of old strucutres should be allowed in order to build new ones.

There are two significant reasons why many believe historic monuments should be preserved. One of the key point is tourism. People visit new places so that they can learn about lifestyle over there and their past; therefore, it can boom the economy of that destination which maintains such showpieces.

Additionally, it is due to the belief of locals. When they feel threat to their culture and tradition, they are ready to fight back and even to sacrifice their own life, if it means to protect their values.

It is not necessary that progress can only be made by destructing such symbols that hold a important value. It can do done parallelly with a little bit of more effort. For instance, new buildings can be built in new open areas rather than collapsing old ones. Similarly roads can be routed via different path without making it encounter such places.

In conclusion, any civilization without a history is nothing but a robotic. It doesn’t only make one culturally rich, but it also gives feeling of belongingness, affection, loyalty and not to forget, it teaches empathy. Hence, the protection of such artifacts is essential and whatever the government are doing is needful. The progress can be made in a different way.