Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing trafic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? what other measures do you think might be effective.

Some people think that raising the price of gasoline is the most efficient way to deal with traffic and pollution issues. In my opinion, this way is not the best way to tackle these issues, and there are various ways that we can consider.

Of course, increasing the price of gasoline is an effective solution for these problems. When the government raises the price, more and more people will try to save their money by commuting by other types of transportation ( buses, subway, … ). However, this way is not practical for certain people. Many people do not know about the increase in the price because they do not track the information daily, and they will continue to use gas-powered vehicles. Moreover, many people who are rich do not care about the money they spend on gas, but about the luxury vehicles they use. Raising the price of petrol will not have enough impact on certain people of the society. For example, my friends never acknowledge the fluctuation of the price of gas, they use their motorcycles just because they are fast and convenient.

Instead, the governments should implement rules such as banning or limiting the usage of gas-powered vehicles and encourage everyone to use public transportation and electrical vehicles. By combining these two ways, more and more people will use public transportation and electrical vehicles to commute because everyone will be informed about the new rules. This will lead to a rise in the number of people using public transportation and electrical vehicles, which will reduce carbon footprint and traffic congestions. A good example from real life is the new rule of the authority of Hanoi. Specifically, this new rule prohibits gas-powered vehicles in certain roads, so that citizens could only go by electrical vehicles or public transportation through these roads. Consequently, the amount of traffic jams in Hanoi has dropped significantly and the air is getting cleaner.

In conclusion, although raising the price of petrol is a practical way, it is not the best way to tackle these issues because people can hardly follow new information compared to implementing new rules that ban gas-powered vehicles in certain places.